Skip to content

Sun Kil Moon

October 4, 2015

Karenin was to open for Sun Kil Moon at the Dunedin Library in London. We had started setting up the merchandise stand when the organiser found me to let me know that there is to be no drums played during our set. 

“It would upset the balance of the evening,” he said, “and Mark has specifically asked for no drums.” 

“But they’re not crashy Rock drums,” I said. 

He said that it wasn’t up to him (it was). 

I found Matthew R and told him that I wasn’t allowed to play drums. 

“I’m going a different way with my music,” he said. “We don’t even need drums.” 

I was still a bit annoyed at him for taking Mike’s place in the band, and this kind of talk made it worse. 

I saw Adam Wells’s ska band setting up in the venue next door for what looked like was going to be a rowdy night. 

“Why don’t we just play there instead?” I said. 

Matthew just looked at me. 

The first opening act was a high school singer songwriter. There’s only so much “support” I can give, and I went to the green room to find Mark Kozelek. I knew he was infamous for being hard to deal with, but I went to talk to him anyway. 

I asked about the drums and he explained that he wants quiet bands opening because he’s getting sick of rock as he gets older. I explained the kind of music we do and the reason we need percussion. 

“I do try to respect opening bands’ needs,” he said. “There was one girl who was really good, she just had a terrible record. I agreed that she could open for me on one condition: during her set in the Octagon, all of her CDs and tshirts had to be burnt in a large bonfire.”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

