Skip to content

Walking Around with Knives

September 11, 2013

We went into a lathe shop. Everybody, children to teenagers to old women, were casually walking around with knives. I felt uncomfortable. A shop worker asked us if we wanted a lesson on sharpening our knives with a lathe. Shinako politely accepted, but I started to act silly and put pieces of paper through the machine. 

We drove through the mountains on a back road. New Zealand was a turned into a big theme park. There was only one entrance. I thought we were lost, but Shinako said that it was easy to find our way out. 

“Do you want to go back to the entrance?” she asked.

“No, I just want to get downhill,” I said.

There was a gourmet chocolate shop at the bottom of the hill. I acted rich. I said, “I’ll take everything.” The owner looked excited and started packing all of the chocolate into boxes for us. Shinako got annoyed. 

When we got back to Matthew’s farm, there seemed to a tour group being shown around. I was surprised to see how many over 90 year-olds were interested in his group. His beard was the longest I had ever seen it. 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

