Skip to content

On the Day After the Earthquake

March 13, 2011

I walked up the stairs to work on the day after the earthquake. There were children playing with broken glass on the areas between floors. One of them was Miyu. I took her upstairs where the rest of the class was waiting for me. I served the children ice-cream and told them it was a play day. Nicky offered to pray for me again. I declined. Yuzo told Yuka that she couldn’t go home; she had to work for three days straight. I walked with her to the station. We met Makiko and Lily on the way. Lily had had a hair cut. It looked nice.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

