Skip to content

The Seminar on 1930s Comedy was Being Held in the Burger King Toilets

February 6, 2011

I was happy that Laura had come to meet me at the mall where I was staying. There was a large group of people sleeping dormitory style in the food court. I told her that we could go on a trip, “it’ll be fun to go on another holiday around Japan together.” She told me that she didn’t think that it was a good idea. “That sounds confusing and inappropriate,” she said, “I think you should go to the seminar without me. I’ll stay down here and see other guys.” I  slowly wandered off.

The seminar on 1930s comedy was being held in the Burger King toilets. The first half were in the male toilets, and the second in the female. Jack was leading it. He read a list of things he was proud of. On it was, among many other things, hats, lambs, bar stools, and second stage.

I felt like it was time for me to move on; I had overstayed my welcome with my host family, and I wasn’t feeling great anyway. I asked my brother Matthew if he wanted to come hitch-hiking with me. “That sort of thing makes me sick these days,” he said, and stayed where he was.

I walked over the rolling hills until I reached a digger. It was sitting in a quarry deep in a valley. It was as tall as a sky-scraper, yellow, and suspended on a pole. I decided to move some rocks around. It was hard for me to work the controls at first, but they were fairly simple, so I got the hang of it. I listened to Bjork on my mp3 player.

I was moving rocks for about 20 minutes before Andrew came over the hill. He looked sad. He moved like a raggedy doll. Renja wasn’t with him. I asked him if his parents had sold the house. He flopped his arms, which meant yes, but there was something else too. Somebody may have died.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 7, 2011 2:37 am

    I like :

    a) how depressing this dreams is
    b) that the title is about as long as your previous entry
    c) the digger sequence

Leave a Reply

