Skip to content

Peas for Tomorrow.

September 21, 2010

I was riding down from Fukushima on the van-train. There were amazing mountains behind telephone wires. I wanted one good picture of the table top mountain; I would always miss getting a picture of that mountain. It was huge, and the top of the brown monstrosity was bigger than its base. The further away the van-train got, the bigger the mountain became. The buildings and telephone wires were in the way. I never got my picture.

I took the van-train all the way to my old high-school. I had been travelling around the USA for six months, so had to catch up on the year’s notes before exams. I couldn’t remember the class schedule so I didn’t know where I should go, or when, for any of the classes. I knew I would fail music anyway because of the internet.   I went to the staff room. Pat was there. I told him that I was on a trip to see Laura, but I never caught up with her. “But she’s here,” Pat said, “She’s sleeping in Josh’s room.”

“WHAT??”

Laura came in wearing her pajamas. “Why didn’t you say that you were here?” I asked. She kissed me on the lips and said that we can’t see each other while I was around. I was confused. I hadn’t zipped up the front of my bag properly. Laura found the cuttings from the NHK magazine. They were girls in bikinis. I was embarrassed.  Laura laughed and teased me about masturbation. “Pat gave them to me,” I said.

The policeman came out of a coma.

Josh asked me if I had watched the latest Seinfeld eopisode. I said I hadn’t, so we watched it together: There was a great machine, and a letter fell out of a poster to travel along the conveyor belts. Lisa showed Bart that the letter was a blue ‘L’ going in, but a white ‘K’ coming out. Bart picked up the K and became confused. He became depressed and shot himself.

The community was going to have their big fight. They picked one big guy to fight against the native peoples’, also big, representative. A rather fat, very tall policeman came along and was trying to interfere with the proceedings. The native people were explaining that sometimes it’s better to go with the will of the people, rather than that of the law. The policeman was arguing with them until another, smaller policeman came running down the stairs from the street above the plaza to help with the situation. He was holding a gun.                     A shot rang out. The shorter policeman was lying dead on the ground. A third policeman popped his head down from the top of the stairs and said, “carry on with it, sorry about the disturbance.” The head native explained that it would happen to the big policeman too if he didn’t “understand the importance of the strength of the community.” The officer said he definitely did. The fighters got ready by lifting up giant coloured logs and building a tower. The officer talked for the longest time about the importance of community togetherness. He didn’t realise that the chief of police himself had come down the stairs and overheard him rant. He didn’t look amused.                                                                    When the officer turned and saw him he said, “I know exactly what to do.” He turned, walked to the kiosk on the corner, opened the till, took out a large number of 10,000 yen bills, and began counting them while he walked away. The chief of police shot him while he walked away.

The shot had also caused a car to swerve and hit a saguaro cactus. There were three men inside the car, all very badly injured. There was blood everywhere. One of them said, “Well, as long as our vomit and fecal matter doesn’t get to the gas-tank, the community will still have enough to eat.” But the vomit/fecal matter and the fuel did mix, causing a huge methane explosion.

Two orphans were in the barn. They had the “peas for tomorrow” and the “cornflakes of the future”. They hadn’t decided which crop would be the best for the town.  There was a huge explosion (from the car). The peas for tomorrow were thrust forward and tore a hole one boy’s stomach, ruining the whole crop. He slumped forward. The cornflakes of the future had burst into flames. The second boy, knowing the food for the village was gone and that he would die in the fire screamed out, “If only we had chosen one crop for the village!!”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

