Skip to content

An Accomplice to Murder.

June 23, 2009
tags: , ,

I was driving along with Damien and he told me that there was something he had to take care of. We had just been to my first Quail/Dry show in ages, and loads of people turned up. It was a really original and eco-friendly show; instead of paper tickets, we used heads of lettuces. I was in a good mood. We stopped by the side of the country road. He opened the boot – there was a girl in there. I recognised her, but couldn’t think of who she was. He took her out and hit her with a shovel. “What are you doing!?” I screamed at him, “stop that!!” He kept hitting her till she was dead. I couldn’t stop him. I couldn’t even try. Then he set her on fire. It was really obvious and the street kept getting busier and busier. Mostly taxis went past. The first vehicle to notice us was a fire engine. Then loads of police cars came over the horizon. Damien wanted to make a run for it. I was calmer than I thought I would be in the situation. We drove off, but the police cars cut us off in every direction. I thought it was a little bit of an over-kill. I was arrested for being an accomplice to murder. Instead of handcuffs they used a sheet, tied around my wrists.
When I got to the police station (the Mornington scout hall) I had to call Laura on my cellphone. I scrolled through the list of contacts, but it was hard to find her because instead of names there were new emoticons of dogs in cute poses. When I rang I kind of panicked, but told her what happened. She sounded sad and told me that she would never see me again, “You’ll be in jail for 20 years, and I’ll probably leave Japan before then.” I hung up the phone and thought about calling my mum. I decided it might just be better to wait for her at church and tell her in person. Walked down the road and went into the service to wait. They had been singing praise songs for 7 weeks straight.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

