Skip to content

Dead Cactus

January 26, 2008

For the Quail had our first get together practice in a long time. Mike Wingfield and two of his friends were there in suits to watch the practice. Evan took my drumsticks and started doing advanced drum-rolls on the desk. Everyone was really impressed. I thought he was showing off. He was technically brilliant though. When he stopped playing (10 minutes later) he said we’d better start. We started by playing ‘Older Bubbles” but I was really out of time. I was really lagging behind and couldn’t speed up my beat at all. I told them to stop because I wasn’t warmed up. I tried a drum-roll but it went bleah. Mike said it was probably the Tokyo air. He said that I needed a pot plant beside me when I play. I told him I already did, and pointed to the dead cactus on the piano beside me.

It started snowing and everyone rushed to the window. The snow was actually a cloud of origami balloons rushing past.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

